Out with the old….

20.12.13 – today has been a significant day for me. After driving leased vehicles for the last 16 years, I’ve finally handed them back, closed out the contracts and bought myself a couple of older, practical cars that will get me, in reasonable comfort from A to B.

Why is this significant?

Well, it’s the latest step in my journey to simplify my life. I’ve always enjoyed driving nice cars and saw them more as a symbol of my success. In recent years, I suppose as I’ve got older, I’ve come to realise that such status symbols are meaningless and realised what really matters. As such, for the last 2 years, I’ve been systematically removing things from my life that cause stress, and are now approaching my ideal state – to be able to live in the ‘now’ as opposed to worrying about tomorrow.

Life isn’t about the things that you have. Life is about the experiences that you have and the people that you share these experiences with. It’s taken me a few years to get there, but I’m there now and it feels great.

One of my passions is travel and I have spent part of this evening laying outline plans for 2014. Really looking forward to going back to Venice in February – the Carnivale will be on – we were there earlier this year and it was awesome.

Later in the year, we are planning a tour of France, staying in gites and visiting a number of the amazing regions during our three week vacation. Just been looking at likely places to visit, and will now start to look into specific gites and boutique hotels. I really enjoy the process of putting such tours together – definitely something to complete during the festive break, I think.

Leave a Reply

